Let's look back...  #DevRetro

Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Let's look back... #DevRetro


Hello, world!

This year I coded my first "Hello, world!"

I started my journey to learn web development with full preparation. I watched tons of videos on roadmaps, non-tech to tech, resources, "How to make it to FAANG in 3 months", etc. I, then, as a non-tech, knew that I should take a course on introduction to computer science for the starters.

So, I took on CS50 course to learn the fundamentals. I highly recommend that course to EVERYONE! It is a wonderful course which taught me a lot of stuff from the basics. I started this course in June 2022.


DSA- Java

I stumbled upon DSA after a while. Researched all about DSA and why it is important to learn. I am using Kunal kushwaha's DSA playlist to learn about it. In a way, java is the first programming language I am learning! I made lots of programmes, learned about git and GitHub, made repositories, fork projects, and created pull requests. It was all so much fun to learn!

I am still yet to contribute to any open-source project though. I am keen to contribute in the coming year.


Figma

As I was unsure as to what I wanted to pursue I started learning Figma. I made 2 projects there. it was fun. I plan to improve more on my UI/UX skills.


Python

As python is so popular and talked about everywhere. I had to give it some time! I use a freecodecamp youtube video to learn about python. Though I only learned very basic stuff then, I will allot more time to learn python in 2023.


HTML and CSS

JavaScript

By this time (September 2022) I became certain that I want to go into front-end development. So I started learning HTML and CSS from scrimba and freecodecamp. Made lots of projects and pushed them to GitHub and also learned to deploy my site to the web. I want to improve my skills though because It is still not that good enough.

also introduced myself to a little bit of JavaScript too. Created and deployed my first-ever web app!!!


Consistency

I did make lots of progress this year in dev but I lacked consistency as well. I plan to be consistent this year and land a job!


Learnings

  1. There is no perfect roadmap, learn on the go!

  2. Learn in public and build in public

  3. Contribute to open source!!!!

  4. Projects >>>>>> tutorials

  5. Consistency is the key

  6. Take breaks

  7. Network


Did you find this article valuable?

Support Shumaila Sayed by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!